Archbishop-elect George Desmond Tambala. Credit: Episcopal Conference of Malawi/Fr. Henry Saindi

Installation of Malawian Archbishop-elect Set for Later this Month

Nov 8, 2021

The installation of Archbishop-elect George Desmond Tambala as the Local Ordinary of Malawi’s Lilongwe Archdiocese has been scheduled to take place on the last Saturday of this month, November 27.

Archbishop emeritus of Juba, South Sudan, Paolino Lukudu Loro (left) and Archbishop-elect, Stephen Ameyu (right)

The Untold Story of South Sudan’s Juba Archdiocese, Archbishop-Elect Has His Work Cut Out

Mar 20, 2020

The story of those protesting against Pope Francis’ transfer of Bishop Stephen Ameyu from South Sudan’s Torit diocese to Juba Archdiocese seems to have received significant media coverage. There seems to be no evidence that the narrative of those at home with the planned change of guard in the Archdiocese has been given media visibility.

Pope Francis (above) who on December 12, 2019 appointed Bishop Stephen Ameyu (right) as the new Archbishop of Juba in South Sudan and accepted the resignation of Archbishop Paolino Lukudu Loro (left)

Beyond Press Statement: What Juba Archbishop Emeritus Told Journalists on Pope’s Decision

Mar 13, 2020

The controversy surrounding the appointment of South Sudanese Bishop Stephen Ameyu as the new Archbishop of Juba took a curious twist earlier this week when Archbishop Emeritus, Paolino Lukudu Loro not only broke his silence through a press statement but also spoke to journalists, accusing the Vatican of forcing the Archbishop elect on the people.

Newly appointed Archbishop-elect for Togo's Lome Archdiocese, Nicodème Anani Barrigah-Benissan

Togo’s Lome and DR Congo’s Mbandaka-Bikoro Archdioceses Get New Shepherds

Nov 26, 2019

In two separate appointments released Saturday, November 23, Pope Francis named Togolese Bishop Nicodème Anani Barrigah-Benissan the new Archbishop of Lomé, Togo and Bishop Ernest Ngboko Ngombe, the new Archbishop of Mbandaka-Bikoro in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DR Congo).